General Trainingphoto of carefree young girl on a swing
General Information
 
Post-Test
For each item, choose the best answer. Then click the grade test button.
  1. Under the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act, a mandated reporter is required to report suspected abuse to:





  1. "Negligent failure of a person having the care or custody of a child to protect the child from severe malnutrition or failure to thrive" is a definition of:





  1. A person who knowingly develops, duplicates, prints, or exchanges a photograph of a child engaged in a sex act is guilty of:





  1. After observing suspected child abuse or neglect, a mandated reporter must call a child protective agency:





  1. Suspected cases of severe emotional abuse that constitutes willful cruelty or unjustifiable punishment of a child must be reported.



  1. A person who fails to make a required report may be punished by up to six months in jail and/or up to a $1,000 fine.



  1. Which of the following does not describe a typical location of an injury resulting from abuse?





  1. Socio-economic status, religion, education, and ethnic background are good indicators of whether a parent might commit child abuse.



  1. An extremely filthy home should put you on the alert for signs of child abuse.



  1. You can often tell by the type and location of a child's injury whether it was caused by an accident or by physical abuse.



  1. In a case of emotional abuse, cumulative documentation over time may be necessary before a child protective agency can intervene.



  1. A child that recants a disclosure of abuse was probably never abused.



  1. A written report must be filed on:





  1. Which of the following is not a circumstance where the identity of a mandated reporter may be disclosed?





  1. Law enforcement agencies and child protective agencies are required to cross-report reports of abuse:





  1. After investigating a report of child abuse, the investigating agency provide feedback about the results of the investigation, and any action the agency is taking, to:





  1. A mandated reporter should report child abuse only if they have investigated the abuse fully and have absolute proof that it occurred.



  1. To guarantee confidentiality, mandated reporters are not required to give their names when reporting suspected abuse.



  1. Violating the confidentiality of the contents of a report is punishable by up to 6 months in county jail, or a by a fine of $500, or both.



  1. At the same time a child welfare department forwards a report to the CACI, it also must notify, in writing, the known or suspected abuser that he or she has been reported to the CACI.




Child Abuse Mandated Reporter Training - California
California Institute on Human Services | Sonoma State University
1801 East Cotati Ave | Rohnert Park | CA | 94928
Phone (707) 284-9537 | Fax (707) 284-9530
E-mail Jillian.Strawn@sonoma.edu

This project was funded under a grant from the California Department of Social Services,
Office of Child Abuse Prevention.